The first time I have heard of a clafoutis was during a french language class. There was a large photo of a classic Clafoutis aux Cerises in our textbook together with the recipe. I was immediately impressed by the dotted pattern that the cherries give to the clafoutis and how deliciously, juicy the cherries sink into the dough. Unfortunately, my first clafoutis could not convince me. It tasted too much like egg and, in retrospective, it probably was not quite baked through. So for a long time, I did not try to make another clafoutis until I found this recipe and my old clafoutis fascination was reawakened.

A clafoutis is a French dessert which can be classified somewhere between a pudding and cake. The dough consists mainly of eggs and is beautifully light and fluffy. The typical French clafoutis is made with cherries, but you can also use any other fruit. I could not pass by these beautiful, juicy apricots in the store and so today, I present you a small modification of the conventional clafoutis. This clafoutis is made with Greek yogurt and kefir and their acid is a nice opponent to the sweetness of the apricots. The almond slices provide a surprising crispness to the clafoutis and work especially well with the softness of the dough. Of course, this clafoutis is gluten-free.

4

Ingredients:

5 eggs
2 egg yolks
150g greek yogurt
1 cup Kefir
1,5 cup grounded almonds
4 tbsp Maple Sirup
1 tsp baking powder
a pinch of salt
1 tsp cinnamon
a pinch of nutmeg
4 apricots
3 tbsp almond slices (optional)

Preparation: 

  1. Grease a small baking dish generously with butter and heat the oven to 180° C.
  2. Mix all ingredients in a large bowl, apart from the apricots and almond slices. Stir all ingredients well and put the dough in the fridge for 20 minutes. (This step is not optional because the grounded almonds have to soak to hold the clafoutis together).
  3. In the meantime, wash the apricots thoroughly and cut them into thin strips.
  4. Get the dough from the refrigerator and stir again well. The dough will now have a slightly thicker consistency but will still be quite runny. Pour the batter into the prepared baking dish and spread the apricot slices evenly on top.
  5. Bake the clafoutis for 20-40 minutes or until an inserted fork comes out clean. If the clafoutis is still very bright, you can bake it for another 10 minutes with top heat. However, I suggest staying in the kitchen during this time or your clafoutis might burn during the final minutes. 
  6. Let the clafoutis cool a little and roast, in the meantime, the almond slices with some coconut oil or butter in a pan. Spread the almond slices on the clafoutis.

The clafoutis tastes best warm with some ice cream, whipped cream or even more Greek yogurt. You can keep it in the fridge for up to a week. 

1

2

3

Enjoy!

Das erste Mal habe ich im Französischunterricht von einem Clafoutis gehört. Es gab ein großes Foto des klassischen Clafoutis aux Cerises in unserem Lehrbuch, sowie das zugehörige Rezept. Mich hat sofort begeistert, wie die Kirschen dem Clafoutis ein gepunktetes Muster verleihen und so lecker, saftig im Teig einsinken. Leider konnte mich der Clafoutis dann aber nicht überzeugen. Das Rezept hat viel zu sehr nach Ei geschmeckt und war in Retrospektive vermutlich auch nicht ganz durchgebacken. Lange Zeit habe ich dann erstmal die Finger von Clafoutis gelassen, bis dieses Rezept meine alte Faszination wiedererweckt hat. 

Ein Clafoutis ist eine französische Süßspeise, die irgendwo zwischen Auflauf und Kuchen eingeordnet werden kann. Der Teig besteht hauptsächlich aus Eiern und ist schön leicht und fluffig. Der typisch französische Clafoutis wird mit Kirschen gemacht, man kann aber auch alle anderen Sorten an Obst verwenden. Ich konnte im Laden nicht an diesen wunderschönen, saftigen Aprikosen vorbei gehen und stelle euch heute eine kleine Abwandlung des herkömmlichen Clafoutis vor. Dieser Clafoutis wird mit griechischem Joghurt und Kefir gemacht, deren Säure ein schöner Gegenspieler zu der Süße der Aprikosen ist. Die Mandelsplitter auf dem Clafoutis sorgen für eine überraschende Knusprigkeit und ergänzen sich gut mit der Weichheit des Teiges. Natürlich ist diese Clafoutis glutenfrei.

4

Zutaten:

5 Eier
2 Eigelb
150g griechischer Joghurt
1 Tasse Kefir
1,5 Tassen gemahlene Mandeln
4 EL Ahornsirup
1 TL Backpulver
eine Prise Salz
1 TL Zimt
eine Prise Muskatnuss
4 Aprikosen
3 EL Mandelblättchen (optional)

Zubereitung: 

  1. Fette eine kleine Auflaufform großzügig mit Butter ein und heize den Backofen auf 180°C vor. 
  2. Vermische alle Zutaten in einer großen Schüssel, bis auf die Aprikosen und Mandelblättchen. Rühre alle Zutaten gut um und stelle den Teig für 20 min in den Kühlschrank. (Dieser Schritt ist nicht optional, da die gemahlenen Mandeln aufquellen müssen, um den Clafoutis zusammen zu halten).
  3. Wasche in der Zwischenzeit die Aprikosen gründlich und schneide sie in feine Streifen. 
  4. Hol den Teig aus dem Kühlschrank und rühre ihn nochmals gut um. Der Teig müsste nun etwas dickerflüssiger sein, aber immer noch recht flüssig. Gieß den Teig in die vorbereitete Auflaufform und verteile die Aprikosenscheiben gleichmäßig auf den Teig.
  5. Backe den Clafoutis für 20-40 Minuten oder bis ein eingepiekstes Stäbchen sauber aus dem Teig kommt. Wenn der Clafoutis noch sehr hell ist, kannst du ihn nochmals für 10 Minuten im Ofen mit Oberhitze backen. Bleibe währenddessen aber am besten in der Küche, um zu vermeiden, dass dir der Clafoutis in den letzten Minuten noch verbrennt.
  6. Lass den Clafoutis ein wenig abkühlen und röste in der Zwischenzeit die Mandelblättchen mit etwas Kokosöl oder Butter in einer Pfanne an. Verteile die Mandelblättchen auf dem Kuchen.

Der Clafoutis schmeckt am besten noch etwas warm und mit Eis, Schlagsahne oder noch mehr griechischem Joghurt. Er hält sich im Kühlschrank gut eine Woche.

1

2

3

Guten Appetit!