My Pole life in Tricks

What is your favorite Pole Trick? What is your Nemesis Pole Trick? What did you have to practice forever? Which trick were you especially proud of when you finally achieved it? Our Pole journeys are drawn by endless hours of training and on this journey, we develop different feelings towards various Pole tricks. There are Pole tricks that remind us of our first class, our first success. Some Pole tricks remind us of incredible pain or maybe an injury. Other Pole tricks evoke a specific song, others a performance and the feelings that we had performing. But every Pole trick also stands for a specific phase during our Pole journey and here is my Pole life in tricks.

Lean Back

When I started Pole Sport, I had almost no strength at all. It took me forever until I could climb the Pole and I did not even dare to think about going overhead. So which Pole tricks remain that a Beginner finds cool and worthy enough to train, that do not involve going upside down? Exactly – the Lean Back. In almost no time, I became a Lean Back Pro and performed so many Lean Backs that I could not sit anymore because my tailbone hurt like hell. The Lean Back was my first trick that showed me how, even though out of necessity, repeating a move 1000 times affects the body and the trick. Because, of course, I could not get properly out of the Lean Back neither, all the coming up again gave me some good abs, and soon I was able to do a clean invert. But until then, I even built an entire choreography for our Studio Opening around the Lean Back and without going upside down . I was very proud of myself and was convinced that I would knock my boyfriend off his socks.

 

Lean Back 2

 2011

Yogini

Approximately one year later, I learned the Yogini. In my initial Pole years, I trained without any structure and did exactly what I ‘forbid’ my students nowadays – collecting tricks. Luckily, I was not particularly strong and always quite quickly at my limit. Again, I had seen the Yogini somewhere and because I am naturally quite flexible in my back, I got it quickly after a few attempts. Immediately, the Yogini became my favorite Aha-trick which I included in every combo and choreography to woo the audience. Actually, I have a pretty low threshold of pain and I am not very good at working through pain, but somehow the Yogini is not that painful for me. So to me, the Yogini is THE one move where I for one time in my Pole journey clenched my teeth. My favorite dialogue? Oh my God, does it not hurt like hell? – Naah, it is not that bad ;)

Yogini

2012

Handspring

The next milestone in my Pole career was the Twisted Grip Handspring/Aysha. I studied in England for a semester and joined the Pole Society at the University. I was in heaven with all my new Pole friends and felt absolutely blown away by the English Pole style. One day, a girl came to train with us, which actually did not do Pole Sport, but was on the Cheerleading World Cup team. We shared a Pole, trained a little together and, of course, everything was super easy for her. Suddenly, she performed a Twisted Grip Handspring like it was nothing. She was so strong and flexible, I would say that she just dropped into it. I immediately wanted to do that, too. Handsprings are the dream of every Pole beginner and everyone wishes to learn them as soon as possible. I still needed about 4 more months before I could perform a clean Handspring and the path to it was quite frustrating. To me, the Handspring meant the transition from Pole beginner to advanced. It also proves how much strength and technique I have built up since my first Pole days. However, a handspring still awes me and through this move, for the first time, I have truly understood how important correct and save training is. The handspring was the end of my trick-collection-phase and the beginning of my rather-slow-and-secure-phase which still lasts on. 

Handspring

2014 

DipSpin/Step Around

For a long time, I have only done Pole Sport and had no palate for dancing, even though I actually danced during my whole childhood and youth. Yet, during my first performance (the Studio Opening) I walked around and around the Pole in the same direction, waiting for the music entry to climb the Pole again (and to perform more Lean Backs). Watching the video again today, I would like to cry a little. The DipSpin/Step Around means my transition from the Pole Sport to Pole Dance world. The step is as simple as it is beautiful and incredibly fun. It offers countless variation possibilities and often is the starting point for great dance choreographies. I cannot believe that I probably performed my first DipSpin about 2 years ago. Today, Pole Sport and Dance are inseparable for me. I can no longer imagine performing Pole tricks without linking them together trough dance or flow movements.

DipSpin

XX

I am nowhere near the end of my Pole journey and I am looking forward to all the Pole tricks out there that are still awaiting me and that will further change my Pole life. I cannot wait to continue to learn, to be inspired, and to flexibly adapt my Pole path. When I look back at my 4 Pole Tricks that changed my Pole life, I feel a sense of pride and melancholy. It is unbelievable what has deeply impressed me back then and unbelievable what I am already able to do today.

What are your Pole tricks to which you have a very special bond? Which Pole trick that changed your Pole life? What do you recall and what would you prefer to forget? What were you particularly proud of back then that makes you laugh today?

2016-04-09T13:55:35+00:00

Was ist dein Lieblings Pole Trick? Was ist dein Nemesis Pole Trick? Woran hast du ewig geübt? Worüber warst du besonders stolz, als du es endlich geschafft hast? Auf unserem Pole Weg, gezeichnet von Stunden endlosen Trainings, bauen wir ganz unterschiedliche Gefühle zu den diversen Pole Tricks auf. Es gibt Pole Tricks, die erinnern uns an unsere erste Stunde, an unseren ersten Erfolg. Manche Pole Tricks verbinden wir mit Schmerzen oder vielleicht einer Verletzung. Ein Pole Trick ruft in uns ein bestimmtes Lied wieder hoch, ein anderer eine Performance und die Gefühle, die wir währenddessen hatten. Aber jeder Pole Trick steht auch für einen bestimmten Abschnitt unseres Pole Lebens und hier ist mein Pole Leben in Tricks.

Lean Back

Als ich mit Pole begann hatte ich praktisch kaum Kraft. Ich brauchte ewig bis ich die Pole hochklettern konnte und an einen Aufgang war gar nicht zu denken. Welche Tricks bleiben also, die eine Anfängerin cool und beachtungswürdig genug findet, wenn man nicht kopfüber gehen kann? Genau – der Lean Back. Ich wurde kurzerhand zum Lean Back Pro und machte so viele Lean Backs, dass ich nicht mehr sitzen konnte, weil mein Steißbein höllisch schmerzte. Der Lean Back war mein erstes Trick, bei dem ich, gezwungenermaßen, am eigenen Leib erfuhr, wie sich das 1000-fache Wiederholen auf den Körper und den Trick auswirkt. Da ich aus dem Lean Back natürlich auch nicht abgehen konnte, bekam ich vom vielen wieder Hochkommen gute Bauchmuskeln und konnte bald einen schmerzfreien, sauberen Aufgang. Bis dahin allerdings baute ich zur Eröffnung unseres Pole Studios sogar noch eine gesamte Choreo ohne Aufgang um den Lean Back. Ich war mächtig stolz auf mich und überzeugt, dass ich meinen Freund vom Hocker hauen würde.

Lean Back 2

 2011

Yogini

Ungefähr ein Jahre später lernte ich den Yogini. In meinen anfänglichen Pole Jahren habe ich ziemlich durcheinander gelernt und genau das gemacht, was ich meinen Schülern heute ‚verbiete‘, nämlich das Sammeln von Tricks. Zum Glück war ich muskulär nicht besonders extrem aufgestellt und immer recht schnell an meinen Grenzen. Den Yogini hatte ich wieder irgendwo gesehen und da ich relativ flexibel im Rücken bin, bekam ich ihn nach ein paar Mal üben schnell hin. Sofort wurde der Yogini zu meinem liebsten Aha-Move, den ich in jede Combo und Choreo einbaute, um die Leute zu begeistern. Eigentlich habe ich eine recht niedrige Schmerzgrenze und bin auch nicht besonders gut darin mich durch Schmerz zu quälen, aber der Yogini macht mir nicht so viel aus. Für mich steht der Yogini dafür, dass ich es einmal geschafft habe die Zähne zusammen zu beißen. Mein Lieblingsdialog? Oh mein Gott, tut das nicht höllisch weh? – Ach was, nö, das geht schon ;)

 

Yogini

2012

Handspring

Der nächste Meilenstein in meiner Pole Laufbahn war der Twisted Grip Handspring/Aysha. Ich studierte für ein Semester in England und trat einer Pole Gruppe an der Uni bei. Ich war im siebten Himmel mit all meinen neuen Pole Freundinnen und hin und weg vom englischen Pole Stil. Eines Tages kam ein Mädchen vorbei, um mit uns zu trainieren, die eigentlich kein Pole macht, aber im Weltmeisterschafts Team vom Cheerleading ist. Wir turnten also ein bisschen an der Pole rum, ihr fiel natürlich alles super leicht und auf einmal machte sie einen Twisted Grip Handspring. Für sie war das überhaupt kein Ding, weil sie so stark und gelenkig war und ich wollte unbedingt sofort auch. Handsprings sind der Traum einer jeden Pole Beginnerin, den es zu verwirklichen gilt – undzwar so schnell wie möglich. Ich brauchte noch ca. 4 Monate bis ich auch wirklich sicher in den Handspring kam und der Weg dahin war ziemlich frustrierend. Für mich bedeutete der Handspring den Übergang von Pole Anfänger zu Fortgeschritten. Der Handspring beweist wie viel Kraft ich seit meinen ersten Pole Tagen aufgebaut habe und flößt mir gleichzeitig höllischen Respekt ein. Mit dem Handspring habe ich ebenfalls zum ersten Mal wirklich begriffen, dass man durch falsches Training sehr viel kaputt machen kann und manchmal lieber langsamer vorgeht, um schneller voranzukommen. Dieser Trick beschreibt das Ende meiner Trick-Sammlungs Phase und der Beginn meiner lieber-langsam-dafür-sicher-Phase, welche bis heute andauert. 

Handspring

2014 

DipSpin/Step Around

Ich habe lange Zeit wirklich nur Pole Sport betrieben und keinen Sinn fürs Tanzen gehabt. Dabei war ich eigentlich immer in irgendwelchen Tanzschulen während meiner Kindheit und Jugend. Während meines ersten Auftritts jedenfalls (die Studioeröffnung) bin ich einfach Runde um Runde in die gleiche Richtung um die Stange gelaufen bis mein Einsatz kam und ich die Pole wieder hochkletterte (um weitere Lean Backs zu machen). Wenn ich mir das Video heutzutage anschaue, möchte ich am liebsten ein bisschen weinen. Der DipSpin bedeutet für mich meinen Übergang von der Sport in die Tanzwelt. Der Schritt ist so einfach, wie er schön ist und macht unglaublichen Spaß. Gleichzeitig bietet er unzählige Variationsmöglichkeiten und ist oft der Ausgangspunkt für tolle tänzerische Choreographien. Ich kann überhaupt nicht glauben, dass ich meinen ersten DipSpin vor vermutlich 2 Jahren gemacht habe. Heute sind Sport und Tanz für mich eins. Ich kann mir überhaupt nicht mehr vorstellen Übungen an der Pole zu machen ohne sie tänzerisch mit einander zu verbinden.

DipSpin

 

XX

Ich bin noch lange nicht am Ende meines Pole Weges und freue mich auf all die Tricks, die da draußen noch auf mich warten und mein Pole Leben weiter verändern werden. Ich kann es kaum erwarten weiter zu lernen, mich weiter inspirieren zu lassen und meinen Pole Kurs weiterhin flexibel anzupassen. Wenn ich auf meine 4 Pole Tricks zurück schaue, die mein Pole Leben bisher verändert haben, dann erfüllt mich ein Gefühl von Stolz und Wehmut. Unglaublich, was mich damals so sehr beeindruckt hat, unglaublich was ich heute davon bereits alles kann. 

Was sind deine Pole Tricks zu denen du eine ganz besondere Bindung hast? Welcher Trick hat dein Pole Leben verändert? Woran denkst du zurück und würdest am Liebsten vergessen? Worauf warst du damals besonders stolz und musst heute drüber lachen?