Pole Fusion Festival

There are some Pole Events every enthusiastic Pole Dancer should try to attend at least once in their life. This includes, at least in my opinion, the Pole Theatre in the UK, the Pole Expo in Las Vegas, one of the many wonderful summer Pole camps and definitely the Pole Fusion Festival in Belgium.

I came across the Pole Fusion Festival by chance and I was immediately convinced by its unique concept and line-up.  The Pole Fusion Festival was brought into life by Sarah Cavenaile, the founder of SarahCademy. The approach of Pole Fusion Festival is the mixing of different disciplines and the promotion of all forms of dance and performing arts. Fusion describes the jointing of theater, dance and circus styles into perfect stage shows.

Pole Fusion Festival, © Guy Dubreucq

I see pole dance as a real performing art, a way to express a personal vision… and not just like a gymnastic discipline. So I am trying to communicate that to the audience in my own performances, in the shows I am directing and in my pole classes by encouraging also the theatrical expression in all levels.

-Sarah Cavenaile

The festival touches me especially as it completely corresponds with my definition of Pole Dance. Most of the time, Pole performances are really focused on the execution of Pole tricks, spins and floorwork. At the Pole Fusion Festival, we want to give dancers the opportunity to express also their other talents and to see how creatively they can mix them with the Pole. The Pole Fusion Festival supports Pole dancers as holistic artists who stand out with their interdisciplinary performances.

Pole Fusion Festival, © Stan Arte

Pole Fusion Festival, © Stan Arte

The festival takes place for the second time from December 12 to 15 and offers three shows, an international Pole competition, various workshops, as well as a Pole Jam. More details about the program can be found here.

In the jury are Phoenix Kazree, Joy Sevinc Gurmen, Sophie Granjon, Sarah Cavenaile, Vane Lunatica, Pierre-Olivier Ferry and Yvonne Smink. Many of these artists also give workshops on the Pole Fusion Festival. Again, you can find more information on the website.

Tickets cost from €29,90 to 49,90. Buy them here.

(Photo: Pole Fusion Festival, © Guy Dubreucq)

2015-12-03T11:50:37+00:00

Es gibt einige Pole Events, die die begeisterte Pole Tänzerin in ihrem Leben nicht verpassen sollte. Dazu zählt zumindest meines Erachtens nach das Pole Theater in England, die Pole Expo in Las Vegas, eines der vielen wundervollen Sommer Pole Camps und definitiv auch das Pole Fusion Festival in Belgien.

Ich bin nur durch Zufall auf das Pole Fusion Festival gestoßen und das Konzept, sowie das Line-Up sind wirklich einzigartig. Das Pole Fusion Festival wurde von Sarah Cavenaile ins Leben gerufen, der Gründerin von SarahaCademy. Der Ansatz des Pole Fusion Festivals ist die Verschmelzung verschiedener Disziplinen, sowie die Förderung aller Arten von Tanz und darstellenden Künsten. Fusion meint hierbei die Vermengung von Theater-, Tanz- und Zirkusstilen zu vollkommenen Bühnenshows.

Pole Fusion Festival_1

Pole Fusion Festival, © Guy Dubreucq

Ich sehe Pole Dance als darstellende Kunst, als ein Weg, um eine persönliche Vision zum Ausdruck zu bringen. Pole Dance ist für mich keine Turndisziplin und das möchte ich dem Publikum in allen meinen Auftritten, sowie den Shows, die ich leite vermitteln und dazu ermutige ich auch stets alle meine Schüler. Den theatralischen Ausdruck auf allen Ebenen.

– Sarah Cavenaile

Mich berührt das Festival ganz besonders, da es meiner Auffassung von Pole so sehr entspricht. Die meisten Pole Choreographien fokussieren heute besonders auf die Ausführung von Pole Tricks, Spins und Floorwork. Beim Pole Fusion Festival hingegen sollen Tänzer die Möglichkeit erhalten alle ihre Talente auszudrücken und zu zeigen, wie kreativ diese mit Pole vermischt werden können. Das Pole Fusion Festival unterstützt Pole Tänzerin als ganzheitliche Künstler, die mit ihren interdisziplinären Performances hervorstechen.

Pole Fusion Festival_2

Pole Fusion Festival, © Stan Arte

Das Festival findet bereits zum zweiten Mal vom 12 bis 15 Dezember statt und bietet drei Shows,  einen internationalen Pole Wettbewerb, verschiedenste Workshops, sowie einen Pole Jam. Genaueres zum Programm findest du hier.

In der Jury sitzen unter anderem Phoenix Kazree, Joy Sevinc Gurmen, Sophie Granjon, Sarah Cavenaile, Vane Lunatica, Pierre-Olivier Ferry und Yvonne Smink. Viele dieser Künstler geben ebenfalls Workshops auf dem Pole Fusion Festival. Auch hier findest du mehr Informationen auf der Webseite.

Die Tickets kosten von 29, 90 bis 49, 90 Euro.

(Foto: Pole Fusion Festival, © Guy Dubreucq)