Pole Theatre Greece – My favorites

Part of Greek Pole Camp was the visit of Pole Theatre Greece. The Pole theatre was invented by Michelle Shimmy and Maddie Sparkle and there are now 14 Pole Theatres around the world. The Pole Theatre distinguishes between the Amateur, Semi-Professional, and Professional Division. In each division, there are four categories Pole Art, Pole Comedy, Pole Drama, and Pole Classique.

This was my first time at a Pole Theatre and I have been looking forward to it for quite a while. I prefer the Pole Theatre over other Championships because here the story is in the foreground and not the tricks. Each Pole performance in Pole Theatre has a theme and the participants neither save on their costumes nor their props (I think I counted up to 8 people on stage once). The regulations within each category are also relatively loose so that each participant has enough freedom to create a unique performance. The jury, this time, were Marlo Fisken, Shaina Cruea, Maddie Sparkle, and Marion Crampe.

I was completely overwhelmed by the performances in Pole Theater Greece. There was such an incredible variety of contributions from rhythmic gymnastics, freed TV game characters, drug addiction, domestic violence, sensual fairies, mystical goddesses, to the difference between your outer appearances and inner feelings, slavery, unanswered love, and sexy Mozart / baker / Playboy Bunnies. I have so much respect for every participant, and I sincerely cannot wait to see the final.

Here are my favorite performances (not always the winners) from each category. Make sure to check them out.

 

Amateur Division

1. Pole Art: Korina Leva 

I first wanted to select Strike a Pose, because I liked their interdisciplinary approach so much and how they mixed Pole Dance and Rhythmic Gymnastics. Besides, I was so happy for them that the ball did not roll away (I was truly nervous for them). Yet, I liked Korina Leva’s performance even a tiny bit better, because she showed so much energy and expression. Each of Korina’s movements were authentically aggressive and at the same time lasciviously. Her choreography perfectly synchronized with the music, and I admire her braveness to be different as a sensual Ninja warrior.

 

2. Pole Comedy: Mad Company

Mad Company won Pole Comedy and I loved about their performance that you could see how at one point all the stress fell off and they were simply having fun performing.

 

3. Pole Drama: Marilena Voutopoulo

Malwina GS rightly won this category. I follow Malwina on all social media channels anyways and find her a very inspiring dancer. Malwina’s performance especially touched me because the issue of drug addiction is not only risky but she also managed to mediate it authentically without being kitsch. Nevertheless, I think that you should definitely watch Marilena’s performance, too. She plays a dangerous hybrid which frees itself from its cocoon and learns to fly. I love her costume, as well as her acting.

 

4. Pole Classique: Constantina Georgiou

This category was won by Aleksandra Karolina, who has really done a wonderful choreography as a sensual fairy. I found, however, the performance of Constantina Georgiou thematically more interesting. She played two egos, her shy and her liberated one.

 

Professional Division

1. Pole Art: Melina

The performance of Melina really got under my skin, and it has absolutely rightly won the Pole Art category. Melina’s contribution was not only extremely beautiful but also exceptionally expressive and emotional. I especially liked how every move flowed into the other. There was not a single break in the entire choreography.

 

2. Pole Comedy: Lila

Lila might have had the easiest part in Pole Theatre Greece, because she was the only competitor in her category and therefore (unsurprisingly) won. Nevertheless, I really liked what she did and she was one of the few to get a big laugh from the theatre.

 

3. Pole Drama: Violaine Richard

If you have watched the Pole Theater live stream to the end, you know who Yiury Kazachkin & Valeria Poklonskaya are anyways. They are the ones who got 99% of all women in the theatre totally freaking out (of course, because of the performance and in no way only because of Yiury’s abs). Both have righteously won Pole Theatre Greece, but you should neither miss Violaine Richard’s performance. Violaine enacts a bird who throws herself in front of a bullet to save someone else’s life. I absolutely love the concept with the black color and, of course, her Pole performance was breathtaking, too. I would give a lot for her flexibility.

 

4. Pole Classique: Chiara Salvade

Chiara did not win Pole Classique, but she was my absolute favorite in this category. I liked how she appeared as a nun and threw off  her gown to Madonna music. However, I liked most Chiara’s facial expression. During earlier workshops, Shimmy had preached that one needs to practice a facial expression just like every other part of the routine. Chiara was one of the few participants who had a lively facial expression. Agreeing with Shimmy, I must admit that this makes a colossal difference and positively effects the overall performance.

Did you follow Pole Theatre Greece through the live stream? Who were your favorite performances and why? What do you care about most during a performance?

2016-06-09T16:29:48+00:00

Teil des Pole Camps in Griechenland war der Besuch des Pole Theatres Greece. Das Konzept wurde von Michelle Shimmy und Maddie Sparkle erfunden und es gibt inzwischen 14 Pole Theatre auf der ganzen Welt. Beim Pole Theatre wird zwischen der Amateur, Semi-Professional und Professional Division unterschieden. In jeder Division gibt es vier Kategorien Pole Art, Pole Comedy, Pole Drama, Pole Classique. 

Es war mein erster Besuch eines Pole Theatres und ich habe mich sehr lange darauf gefreut. Ich bevorzuge das Pole Theatre gegenüber anderen Meisterschaften, da hier nicht die Tricks sondern die Geschichte im Vordergrund stehen. Jede Pole Performance hat ein Thema und dabei wird weder an den Kostümen noch an den Requisiten gespart (Ich glaube, ich habe an einer Stelle 8 Personen auf der Bühne gezählt). Die Regeln innerhalb der einzelnen Kategorien sind vergleichsweise locker, sodass jede Teilnehmerin einen großen Freiraum für ihre Performance hat. In der Jury saßen diesmal Marlo Fisken, Shaina Cruea, Maddie Sparkle und Marion Crampe.

Ich war völlig überwältigt von den Beiträgen im Pole Theater Greece. Es gab so eine unglaubliche Vielfalt an Beiträgen von Rhytmischer Sportgymnastik, befreite TV Spielfiguren, Drogenabhängigkeit, häusliche Gewalt, sinnlichen Feen, mystische Göttinen über die Differenz zwischen dem äußeren Schein und dem inneren Sein, Sklaventum, unerfüllte Liebe, sexy Mozart/Bäckerin/Playboy Bunnies. Ich habe einen großen Respekt vor jeder Teilnehmerin und kann es kaum erwarten das Finale anzusehen.

Hier sind meine Favoriten (nicht immer die Gewinner) aus den einzelnen Kategorien, die du dir unbedingt ansehen solltest.

 

Amateur Division

1. Pole Art: Korina Leva

Ich wollte erst Strike a Pose nehmen, da mir so gut gefallen hat, wie sie Pole Dance interdisziplinär mit Rhytmischer Sportgymnastik gemischt haben. Außerdem habe ich mich so für sie gefreut, dass der Ball nie weggekullert ist. Korina Leva’s Performance hat mir dann aber doch ein klitzekleines bisschen besser gefallen, da sie so viel Energie und Ausdruck hatte. Jeder Korina’s Bewegungen wirkt so authentisch aggressiv und gleichzeitig lasziv. Ihre Choreografie ist perfekt mit der Musik synchronisiert und ich finde es cool, dass sie als sinnliche Ninja Kämpferin Mut zum Andersein hat.

 

2. Pole Comedy: Mad Company

Mad Company hat die Pole Comedy Kategorie wirklich verdient gewonnen und ich fand es besonders schön zu sehen, wie an einem Punkt einfach die Spannung von den beiden Pole Tänzerinnen abgefallen ist und sie einfach nur noch Spaß am Schauspielern und der Performance hatten.

 

3. Pole Drama: Marilena Voutopoulo

Gewonnen hat diese Kategorie völlig zurecht Malwina GS. Ich folge Malwina sowieso auf allen Social Media Kanälen und finde, dass sie eine sehr inspirierende Tänzerin ist. Ihre Performance beim Pole Theater hat mich besonders berührt, da die Thematik der Drogensucht nicht nur gewagt ist, sondern auch authentisch, ohne kitischig zu sein, rüber gebracht wurde. Trotzdem finde ich, dass ihr euch unbedingt auch Marilena’s Performance ansehen solltet. Sie ist ein gefährlicher Hybrid, der sich aus seinem Kokon befreit und fliegen lernt. Sowohl das Kostüm, als auch ihre Pole Performance fand ich besonders gelungen.

 

4. Pole Classique: Constantina Georgiou

Diese Kategorie wurde von Aleksandra Karolina gewonnen, die wirklich eine wunderschöne Choreografie als sinnliche Fee absolviert hat. Thematisch noch interessanter fand ich allerdings den Auftritt von Constantina Georgiou, die zwei Ichs darstellt, ihr schüchternes und ihr befreites, wildes.

 

Professional Division

1. Pole Art: Melina

Die Performance von Melina ging wahrlich unter die Haut und sie hat damit auch die Pole Art Kategorie gewonnen. Melina’s Beitrag war nicht nur selten schön, sondern auch ausdrucksstark und emotional. Mir hat besonders gefallen wie jede ihrer Bewegungen in einander geflossen ist. Es gab keinen einzigen Bruch in der gesamten Choreografie.

 

2. Pole Comedy: Lila

Lila hatte den vielleicht einfachsten Part im gesamten Pole Theatre Greece, denn sie war die Einzige, die in ihrer Kategorie angetreten ist und hat somit (wenig überraschend) gewonnen. Trotzdem hat mir auch wirklich gut gefallen, was sie gemacht hat und sie hat es als eine der wenigen wirklich geschafft den Saal zum Lachen gebracht.

 

3. Pole Drama: Violaine Richard

Wenn du den Pole Theater Livestream bis zum Ende geschaut hast, dann weißt du sowieso wer Yiury Kazachkin & Valeria Poklonskaya sind. Das waren die, bei denen 99% der Frauen im Saal völlig ausgeflippt sind (natürlich wegen der Leistung und keinesfalls wegen Yiury’s Abs). Die beiden haben berechtigt das Pole Theatre Greece gewonnen, aber du solltest trotzdem unbedingt die Performance von Violaine Richard ansehen. Violaine stellt einen Vogel dar, der sich vor die Kugel wirft, um ein anderes Leben zu retten. Die Idee sich nach dem Schuss in schwarzer Farbe zu wälzen, finde ich toll und innovativ. Auch ihre Pole Performance war natürlich atemberaubend und für ihre Flexibilität würde ich einiges geben.

 

4. Pole Classique: Chiara Salvade

Chiara hat Pole Classique zwar nicht gewonnen, aber sie war mein Favoritin dieser Kategorie. Mir hat gefallen, wie sie zunächst als Nonne auf die Bühne kam und sich dann zu Madonna entkleidet hat. Am besten aber fand ich Chiara’s Gesicht. Shimmy hatte uns gerade zuvor in einem Workshop gepredigt, dass man seinen Gesichtsausdruck, wie alle anderen Teile der Choreografie üben müsse und Chiara war eine der wenigen Teilnehmerinnen, die einen sehr lebendigen Gesichtsausdruck hatte. In Gedanken bei Shimmy muss ich zugeben, dass es einen kolossalen Unterschied macht und sich positiv auf die gesamte Performance auswirkt. 

Hast du Pole Theatre Greece im Livestream verfolgt? Wer waren deine Lieblingsbeiträge und wieso? Worauf achtest du besonders bei einer Performance?