Sugar tax – what are your thoughts?

Today I saw an interesting post by Sarah Wilson on Instagram where she promotes the introduction of a sugar tax in Australia.

 

2014 a sugar tax was introduced in Mexico, which makes drinks with a high sugar content about 10% more expensive. Mexico has become the ‘largest’ country in the world, with 70% of all Mexicans being considered overweight and 32.8% even obese. Researchers examined the effects of the tax introduction in 6,200 Mexican households and over a period of 12 months. They found that within a year the consumption of sugary drinks decreased by 12% and in poorer households even by 17% ¹.

Now many governments consider following the example of Mexico and introducing a sugar tax, too. Yet, there are also many opponents to a sugar tax. Some of Sarah Wilson’s followers for instance comment that they already pay enough taxes and that they are not willing to pay another one. Others feel patronized in their lifestyle by a sugar tax and remark that a tax does not solve the lack of information regarding a healthy lifestyle. Others again are skeptical that the government would not re-invest the tax revenues in the health care system. Another fear is the loss of jobs in the soft drinks producing industry.

What are your thoughts about that? Do you think a sugar tax makes sense or are you rather against it? Do have any other ideas how to reduce the sugar intake and to better inform especially children or young people?

A very interesting article which draws a closer look at the pro and contra arguments is published on Economicshelp.

Here are my ideas on how to consume less sugar.

¹All figures by the Telegraph.

2016-04-11T13:29:04+00:00

Ich habe heute einen interessanten Post von Sarah Wilson auf Instagram gesehen, wo sie für die Einführung einer Zuckersteuer in Australien wirbt. 

 

2014 wurde in Mexico eine Zuckersteuer eingeführt, welche Getränke mit einem hohen Zuckergehalt ca. 10% teurer macht. Mexico ist inzwischen das ‚dickste‘ Land der Welt ist, wobei 70% aller Mexikaner als übergewichtig gelten und 32,8% sogar als stark übergewichtig. Forscher untersuchten den Effekt der Steuer in 6,200 Haushalten und in einem Zeitraum von 12 Monaten. Sie konnten feststellen, dass bereits innerhalb eines Jahres der Konsum von zuckerhaltigen Getränken um 12% viel und in ärmeren Haushalten sogar um 17%¹.

Viele Regierungen überlegen sich nun an Mexiko ein Beispiel zu nehmen und ebenfalls eine Zuckersteuer einzuführen, doch es gibt viele Gegenstimmen. Einige von Sarah Wilson’s Followern kommentieren, dass sie bereits genug Steuern zahlen und nicht bereits sind eine weitere Steuer abzuführen. Andere fühlen sich durch eine Zuckersteuer in ihrem Lebensstil bevormundet und bemerken, dass eine Steuer nicht den Mangel an Information bezüglich gesunder Ernährung löst. Andere sind skeptisch, ob die Regierung die Steuereinnahmen auch wirklich in das Gesundheitssystem re-investiert.  Eine weitere Angst ist der Verlust von Arbeitsplätzen in der Herstellung von zuckerhaltigen Lebensmitteln.

Was denkst du dazu? Fändest du die Einführung einer Zuckersteuer sinnvoll oder bist du eher auf der Seite der Gegenstimmen? Hast du Ideen, wie man den Zuckerkonsum verringern könnte und gerade auch Kinder oder Jugendliche besser aufklären?

Ein sehr interessanter Artikel, der sich detailliert mit den oben genannten Argumenten auseinander setzet wurde von Economicshelp verfasst. 

Hier sind meine Ideen, wie du Industriezucker vermeidest.

¹Alle Zahlen vom Telegraph.