The black sheep in Pole – the warm-up

The warm-up, closely followed by the Cool Down, seems the most annoying part of a Pole class. As a Pole newbie, I always thought warm-ups were invented by my instructor to get us so tired that we are less work for the rest of the class. During free practice, my warm-up often consisted of five minutes random wrist circling and to be completely honest, I did not really have an idea what I was doing.

The warm-up enjoys not much popularity and yet, it is one of the most important parts of your Pole training. It serves, as the name suggests, to warm up the entire body, to increase your performance, and to reduce your risk of injury. During the warm-up, the body temperature rises to optimal 38.5 ┬░C, circulation is stimulated, the muscles are better supplied with blood, and synovial fluid is distributed in the joints.

Here are a few tips on how to properly warm up and be well prepared for your training.

1. the general warm-up

Firstly, we want to get our body generally warmed up and start sweating.Cardio exercises suit this purpose best. If, for example, you go to your Pole studio by bike or go for a quick run before your Pole session, you can already tick off your general warm-up. However, be careful not to have a long break between your general warm-up and your training session. At your Pole Studio, you could, for example, run on the spot, perform jumping jacks, or burpees. An intense dance workout to your favorite song can also be great fun. Amy Hazel has some more great ideas on how to get really warm.

Time: min. 5-10 minutes

2. the specific warm-up

The specific warm-up concretely prepares your muscles with a similar but reduced strain for the following training. You can do specific warm-up exercise with or without weights. An example of a specific warm-up exercise could be hanging crunches on the Pole. You warm up your muscles, without directly demanding a Pole invert. If you are practicing new strength tricks, such as Ayshas or Handsprings, you should incorporate exercises that focus on the corresponding muscles. You could perform, for example, push-ups, handstands, or planks.

Time: min. 10-15 min

 

3. Mobilize your muscles and joints

Many Pole exercises require a high flexibility. Therefore, make sure to include some mobility exercises into your warm-up. With this, I mean exercises that get your muscles warm, strengthen them, and at the same time give them a gentle stretch. An example would be leg kicks. Stand next to the Pole and kick your leg as high as possible, with your standing leg remaining straight and stable. This exercise gets your leg muscles warm, strengthens your frontal thigh muscles while stretching your hamstrings. If you plan particularly intense Pole tricks that require a great flexibility, you can also do some static stretching but do not exaggerate it and avoid tearing muscle fiber and at this weakens your muscle. I like to mobilize through Yoga exercises. Also, floorwork or gentle dance moves will help you to warm up and to mobilize your muscles and joints.

Total time: For a Pole hour (60 min), I suggest warming up at least 15 to 20 minutes. In winter or after a long break, you might need to warm up even longer (see point 3, final notes).

A few final notes:

  • never skip the warm-up – saving 15 minutes by skipping your warm-up can lead to a months-long injury break
  • Increase the intensity on the Pole – even on the Pole, you should start off with easier tricks, maybe some repetitions, and then continue with more intense tricks that you are just learning
  • Listen to your body – Our body is in a different situation every day. Sometimes we start the training still stiff from the day before, sometimes we had a long injury break, sometimes we have eaten badly or slept few, sometimes we feel fit and energized. Your body requires different warm-ups with different lengths from training to training. Listen to your body and give him the warm-up, he longs for to ensure that your training  feels accordingly good.

What are your favorite warm-up exercises? Are you secretly skipping your warm-up or do you stick to it? How do you motivate yourself throughout the warm-up?

2016-04-24T19:31:48+00:00

Das Warm Up, dicht gefolgt vom Cool Down, scheint der lästigste Teil der Pole Stunde. Ich habe als Anfängerin immer geglaubt, dass Warm Up sei hauptsächlich dazu da die Pole Schüler so fertig zu machen, dass die Trainerin den Rest der Stunde nicht mehr so viel Arbeit mit uns hat. Beim freien Training beschränkte sich mein Warm Up meist auf fünf minütiges wahlloses Handgelenk kreisen und ich bin ganz ehrlich, ich hatte wenig Ahnung, was ich da tat. 

Das Warm Up erfreut sich keiner besonderen Beliebtheit und ist doch beinah der wichtigste Teil des Pole Trainings. Es dient, wie der Name schon sagt, der Aufwärmung des gesamten Körpers, steigert deine Leistungsfähigkeit und verringert dein Verletzungsrisiko. Während des Warm Ups steigt die Körpertemperatur auf optimale 38,5°C, der Kreislauf wird angekurbelt, die Muskeln besser durchblutet und in den Gelenken Gelenkschmiere verteilt.

Hier sind ein paar Tipps, wie du dich gut aufwärmst und optimal auf dein Training vorbereitest. 

1. Allgemeines Warm Up

Zunächst geht es darum deinen Körper ganz generell warm zu machen und dich ins Schwitzen zu bringen. Besonders gut eignen sich hierfür natürlich Cardio Übungen. Wenn du mit dem Fahrrad schnell zum Studio radelst oder vor dem Pole Training eine Runde Joggen gehst, dann kannst du hinter dein allgemeines Warm Up schon ein Häkchen machen. Vorsicht aber, dass du zwischen deinem allgemeinem Warm Up und Training nicht so viel Zeit verstreichen lässt, dass du wieder kalt wirst. Im Pole Studio könntest du als Cardio Übungen beispielsweise auch auf der Stelle rennen, Hampelmänner oder Burpees machen. Großen Spaß macht auch ein intensives Tanzworkout zu deinem Lieblingslied. Amy Hazel hat ein paar weitere gute Ideen, wie du richtig warm wirst.

Zeit: min. 5-10 Minuten

2. Das spezifische Warm Up

Das spezifische Warm Up bereitet deine Muskeln mit einer ähnlichen, aber geringeren Belastung gezielt auf das folgende Training vor. Du kannst hierfür Übungen mit oder ohne Gewichten machen. Ein Beispiel für ein spezifisches Warm Up wären Hängende Crunches an der Pole. Du machst deine Muskeln schon einmal warm, ohne ihnen direkt einen Pole Aufgang abzuverlangen. Wenn du an neuen Kraft Tricks übst, wie beispielsweise Ayshas oder Handsprings, dann solltest du in dein spezifisches Warm Up Übungen einbauen, die den Kraftaufbau der entsprechenden Muskeln fördern. Beispiele hierfür könnten Liegestütze, Handstand oder Planks mit Schulterheben sein. 

Zeit: min. 10-15 min

 

3. Mobilisierung deiner Muskeln und Gelenke

Viele Pole Übungen erfordern ein hohes Maß an Beweglichkeit. Du solltest in dein Warm Up also unbedingt ebenfalls Mobilisierungsübungen integrieren. Hiermit sind Übungen gemeint, die deine Muskeln warm machen, kräftigen und gleichzeitig sanft stretchen. Ein Beispiel wären Bein Kicks. Stell dich neben deine Pole Stange und kicke mit gestrecktem Bein so hoch du kannst in die Luft. Das Standbein bleibt durchgestreckt und stabil. Bei dieser Übung wärmst du deine Beinmuskulatur gut auf, stärkst deinen vorderen Oberschenkelmuskel und dehnst den hinteren Oberschenkelmuskel sanft. Falls du besonders intensive Pole Tricks planst, die ein hohes Maß an Beweglichkeit erfordern, kannst du dich ebenfalls etwas statisch stretchen. Übertreibe es aber nicht, damit dir keine Muskelfasern reißen und du im folgenden Training instabiler bist. Ich mobilisiere mich gern durch Yoga Übungen. Auch Floorwork oder leichte Tanzeinheiten helfen dir warm zu werden und deine Muskeln und Gelenke zu mobilisieren. 

Gesamtzeit: Für eine Stunde Pole (60 min) solltest du dich min. 15 bis 20 min warm machen. Im Winter oder nach langer Pause gegebenenfalls auch länger (siehe Punkt 3, letzte Hinweise).

 Noch ein paar letzte Hinweise:

  • spare niemals am Warm Up – 15 Minuten, die du beim Warm Up sparst, können zu einer monatelangen Verletzungspause führen
  • steigere die Intensität an der Pole – auch an der Pole solltest du erst mal mit leichteren Tricks beginnen, vielleicht ein paar Wiederholungen von ‚alten‘ Tricks machen, und dann erst an den neuen, intensiven Tricks weiterüben
  • Hör auf deinen Körper – Unser Körper befindet sich jeden Tag in einer anderen Situation. Mal starten wir das Training noch ganz steif vom Vortag, mal nach einer langen Verletzungspause, mal haben wir schlecht gegessen/geschlafen, mal sind wir fit und energiegeladen. Dein Körper kann also ganz unterschiedliches Warm Up benötigen und unterschiedlich lange brauchen, um warm zu werden. Hör auf deinen Körper und gib ihm das Warm Up, das er braucht, damit sich dein Training danach gut anfühlt.

Was sind deine liebsten Warm Up Übungen? Überspringst du heimlich das Warm Up oder hältst du dich brav daran? Wie motivierst du dich beim Warm Up?